that i have to write until i have to gte these crazy kids to bed.
Met Ashley, got along like two peas in a pod, went out saturday, met up with some of the peoples i met the first weekend i was here, met some of ashleys friends...
had a BLAST.
the week has been crazy... still... shopping through the day for new shoes for everyone for school...
OH i lost chloe for a bit at the shopping mall the other day .... she came back... ha ha... its hrad to keep an eye on four kids sometimes....
and then... i went for a walk in the forrest with AThos.. and he bolts off and i lost him... but the police found him... stupid dog.... he got lost... and ended up at some farm.. as you do...
so im on a roll.... really, last thing i need to do is get lost myself.. which is sure to happen sometime this weekend, as Splash (Ashley) is going away, so ill be fending for myself and navigating myself round...
OH met another au pair, Juliet, she is from Brisvegas.. she is lovely and we get along swimingly also which is just tops....
she just 21 and has only just finished uni... so this is a big adventure for her...
took her out last ngith for her first time out in lausanne, had a good one, even though we all had to leave round 1030ishto make sure we caught out bussses...
the transport here is fabulous... i just gotta get my head round it, but Ash says that will happen in no time...
so i got my bus pass which is great and i start french school on the 10th of september for 6 months, i am loooking forward to it, coy now i ahve Swiss friends it will be so much easier for me to pick up and it makes me want to learn all the more as well..
Juliet and i enrolled in the same class, and then we have wednesday nights dinner dates... where everyone meets us after school to chow down on some good ole swiss cuisine....
sooo i am very sure i ahev done more... but to be fair, i feel like this week is a bit of a blur... so if i do think of something awesome to add that i shall do...
oh one more thing, i got my first glimpse of snow the other day.. hahah summer snow....
oh and i met a snowboard instructor.... PURRRRRRRRRRRFect...
Bring on Verbier...
**Bisous mon amies**
(we are having technical problems and apparently the computer is too kool for skool and wont let me add a picture... but i have a good one.. so ill continûe to try over the next few days..)
Friday, August 22, 2008
Saturday, August 16, 2008
chocolate and cheese and bread, oh my, chocolate and cheese and bread oh my...
whoaaaaaaaa.. where to start, the beginning sounds dimple, but i ahve done so so much in the past few days i dont even know where the beginning is...
the Australian family came and they are still here mum dad and two daughters..
its been so good having them here, a little piece of home or something like that.
we went to the olympic museum in lausanne which was really really great especially as the olypics are on, i got an audio tour and it was well overload of info but so so interesting....
we went to the puchy creperie, which Laurences father owns.... yum yum.
i have also been on a supr nice sailing boat to Chateau de chillon, which is over 1000 years old and used to belong to the Lords of Savoy.. its an island on the water, so like most castle a moat was not necessary hahah... but it was great glance at some more super history...
the boat went then to Montreax, jazz festival town.. the place was stunning, we got off here also and had some scrumptious Movenpik icecream which was.. heaven in your mouth!!
yesterday was my fave day thus far but the longest and most exhausting... we ad our two cars and we drove to Gryere which is famous for the making of the cheese which is a fave round here... we were going to the cheese factory but there was a massive tour so we headed to the little village of gryere, which was so so quaint and just spectactular, up on this hill overlooking the alps, and the scenery like most , was just breathtaking...
after this we went for lunch right on this ski area, with all the chateaus and they had this tabogan ride which went through the forest and the kids went on this.. there was no snow it was just a tabogan ride like u got pulled up mechanically and then flew down through a half pipe type thing.. the girls love loved it.. and it gave us adults a nice break....
after this we then went on to the CHOCLATe factoRY.. oh yeahhhhh.. Nestle, Callier... etc etc..
yes, there was a room where it was all you can eat.. cha ching, scoreeeee..... but honestly when there is so much in front of you, there is still only so much u can eat....
thennnn after that.... yes this is still the same day... we drove through the alps... to Gstaad, whcih is one of the more ritsy places to stay with all the boutiques and bits and bobs through the streets... but the chateaus here were just outstanding....
AFTER a drink and walk in Gstaad we then drove again round the alps past Glacier 3000 which is a very popular ski resort and the names says it all its about 3000 feet up... then onto Les Diablerets, and had Fondue for dinner.... MmMmMM cheesy goodnesss....
Laurence grandfather owns a Chalet in Les Diablerets so I will be going back many a time to stay in this beautiful town....
So that was our final stop and i can say i was well glad.... i was exhausted and i think everyone was.... but it was a day not to forget... the views.... something i will be happy to see over and over again..
tomorrow is saturdayyyy..woohooo... i am hopefully meeting up with Ashley, another au pair, she called me to go tonight, but i had agreed to stay in and have a Pesto pasta pyjama party with the 5 girls... so here i am... btu its okay, its been fun.... but cant wait for tomorrow and hopefully seeing some Lausanne nightlife..
one more week of school holidays and then its scheduele time.. but i must say i ahve been ^working^long hours.. so school time might actually be a bit easier...
Yawn, time to hit the hay me thinks....
Adios .
the Australian family came and they are still here mum dad and two daughters..
its been so good having them here, a little piece of home or something like that.
we went to the olympic museum in lausanne which was really really great especially as the olypics are on, i got an audio tour and it was well overload of info but so so interesting....
we went to the puchy creperie, which Laurences father owns.... yum yum.
i have also been on a supr nice sailing boat to Chateau de chillon, which is over 1000 years old and used to belong to the Lords of Savoy.. its an island on the water, so like most castle a moat was not necessary hahah... but it was great glance at some more super history...
the boat went then to Montreax, jazz festival town.. the place was stunning, we got off here also and had some scrumptious Movenpik icecream which was.. heaven in your mouth!!
yesterday was my fave day thus far but the longest and most exhausting... we ad our two cars and we drove to Gryere which is famous for the making of the cheese which is a fave round here... we were going to the cheese factory but there was a massive tour so we headed to the little village of gryere, which was so so quaint and just spectactular, up on this hill overlooking the alps, and the scenery like most , was just breathtaking...
after this we went for lunch right on this ski area, with all the chateaus and they had this tabogan ride which went through the forest and the kids went on this.. there was no snow it was just a tabogan ride like u got pulled up mechanically and then flew down through a half pipe type thing.. the girls love loved it.. and it gave us adults a nice break....
after this we then went on to the CHOCLATe factoRY.. oh yeahhhhh.. Nestle, Callier... etc etc..
yes, there was a room where it was all you can eat.. cha ching, scoreeeee..... but honestly when there is so much in front of you, there is still only so much u can eat....
thennnn after that.... yes this is still the same day... we drove through the alps... to Gstaad, whcih is one of the more ritsy places to stay with all the boutiques and bits and bobs through the streets... but the chateaus here were just outstanding....
AFTER a drink and walk in Gstaad we then drove again round the alps past Glacier 3000 which is a very popular ski resort and the names says it all its about 3000 feet up... then onto Les Diablerets, and had Fondue for dinner.... MmMmMM cheesy goodnesss....
Laurence grandfather owns a Chalet in Les Diablerets so I will be going back many a time to stay in this beautiful town....
So that was our final stop and i can say i was well glad.... i was exhausted and i think everyone was.... but it was a day not to forget... the views.... something i will be happy to see over and over again..
tomorrow is saturdayyyy..woohooo... i am hopefully meeting up with Ashley, another au pair, she called me to go tonight, but i had agreed to stay in and have a Pesto pasta pyjama party with the 5 girls... so here i am... btu its okay, its been fun.... but cant wait for tomorrow and hopefully seeing some Lausanne nightlife..
one more week of school holidays and then its scheduele time.. but i must say i ahve been ^working^long hours.. so school time might actually be a bit easier...
Yawn, time to hit the hay me thinks....
Adios .
Monday, August 11, 2008
one more moment...
ok ok.. so i just wrote the biggest post and then it dissapeared, least to say i am highly un impressed.
here we go again....
yesterday i spent my first day in switzerland with Alex and his friends... like i said in the last post i was going to meet alex in town and then maybe do some sighseeing...
well i did meet alex bout 330pm and we went to this shopping mall kind of like myer or david jones with all sorts of brands and every level has something diff...
we went to the top of this and had cakes and coffeee which was really great and the view was just amazing.
we were chatting away and didnt realise the time so we had no time for any sighseeing and we just went back down and his friends picked us up and we drove to La crox to another friends house for a bbq... the house was fab.. it was an old farm house ocnverted into a 3 story loft i guess you could say... it was cool!!
by about 8pm there was baout 10 of us, and two of alexs friends are djs so they brought their equipement along and played some tuneeeez for us, and heapsa of the music was in english and things like david guettera and bodyrox and sneaky sound system, so i knew heaps!!
so here i was with 10 complete strangers, sitting around, laughing, drinking Mateus (rose wine, sparkling, my new fave) good food, sunshine beaming down, with the view of lake geneva right infront of us... just having a splendid time!!
about 3 -4 of them could speak english, not fluently but ver very well i thought... so i learnt a bit more french and i taught them a bit more english .. and they said they cant wait till i can speak fluent french with them ha ah i said they may be waiting a while... if they were all having a conversation in french alex would explain basically what they were saying but i can also now pick out bits n pieces and words and get the egenral gist of the convo...
Gin and some ofthe others wanted to take me out in Lausanne to dance, but i didnt want to come back late for my first night, so Karine and i swapped numbers and she said she will organise them all for a ntoher night in a few weekends and they will ake me out.. Karine was lovely and she really did speak very good english... she said she would take me shopping and to diff places as well which will be great!!
Alex had to get the train back to his village so GIn drove me home and he speaks about as much english as i do french, but its funny how you can still find that commond ground whcihw as music with us, and then with explainign other things we both just tried and tried and eventually we understand.. hahah but it was a real laugh and its good coz we can just laugh at eachother...
but all i can say is lucky he had GPS in his carha ha, coz explaining hwo to get back would have been a truggle because i was hardly sure and then with the whole french english barrier, i could have ended up anywhere.. but alas i got home safe and sound and about 1130pm which is actually earlier than some nights i have been up with the girls...
today was spent with me having a little sleep in and then i went on a solo trip on foot round a few streets to try and get some bearings... i unfortunately (fortunately) found the local bakery..hahaha bought myself a little pastry... which are to die for, they really have got the tastefactor covered ... yum yum..
then just before i took the girls to the park, it is my day off but i didnt mind and it got them out for a while.. even thought they have a decent back yard, i knew they wanted to go...
the weather is just amazing, but apparently its going to get worse over the next few days, which is unfortnate as we have a family from australia arriving tomorrow for a week, parents and 2 kids... so i will have 5 to look out for ha ha... coy roxane is going to horse camp for the week...
$so laurence and i will have to think of some things to do inside if it rains etc... fun fun fun...
i start french school in 2 weeks, i have to do a test to see how good (bad) i am and then they put me in an appropriate class..hahah chuck me at the bottom i say..
anywho..hhahah thats my dear diary for the day... hope everyone is doing great xoxoxox
Saturday, August 9, 2008
i`m walking on sunshine whoaaa... for the minute.
helloooo from Switzerland.
well i made it... my new home, my new room, my new bathroom...
let me start with the end of the Nce adventure...
Laurence took me to see ST Pauls village in Nice which is where Picasso lived... and there are his paintings everywhere you go.. i ahve some pics of that which i will put on facebook or somewhere when i get more than 5 mins..
Margaux and i spend the day in Antibes also one fo the days.. we took the train and justspent the day wandering around and looking at the shops and the amazing beach...
the weather got hotter and hotter as the days went by... yesterday it reached 38 degrees as we were leaving....
so yes here i am... in le mont... lausanne...
we went form the airport to Chahins parents house last night in Ouchey which is the town right on lake geneva... i sat out on the balcony for a while and took in the sights... it was so clear you could see all the way across to the French side... just amazing... so thats where my picture is from..
this afternoon i am having a guided tour round Lausanne with a friend of a friend ha ha... should be good.
and then i think he is taking me to a bbq tonight which should be good.. good for me to have time away from the craziness of it alll...
anywho i better go.. larence is shopping and i have to keep my eye on miss chloe!!
love and kisses xox
Wednesday, August 6, 2008
speaking in a poxy french accent does not make you cool...
hahha... i havent been but just incase u were wondering...
so here i am in the south of france at cote de azur.. NICE..
its so amazing.. the house here is out of this world.. its huge and the views are just amazing.. as you can see form this photo even..
i left the uk on not the best note as i was late for the plane, only due to the fact some moron geezer took his sweet time in th eline and left a few of us racing for the planes..
so i was practically chasing the plane down the run way... it was horrribleeee.. i had to jump a barrier that practically sid i was too late to board.. but trust me i was not hvaing that..
the girls and laurence greeted me at the airport, all very excited.. and then yesterday we played games and then had a swim in this amazing swimming pool.
today we played games and then took roxane and jasmine to horse riding. and we watched them for a while and then came back here and went in the pool and i`ve just beeen playing with the girls and cards... we just had dinner and the girls are tentively wtching a french movie so i have some time to email.. but can hear chloe crying so i better keep this short now.
tomorrow i am going to explore nice by myself while laurence stays with the girls.. so hopefully that goes all well and i can see some of this fine city i can see form my window.
its sooooo warm here.. like i would think about 28 every day..
i miss you all like crazy..
this place is amazing but i cant wait to get to switzerland and have aroom where i can put everything.
love love xoxoxo
Monday, August 4, 2008
mamma mia..here i go again...
So the UK stay is coming to an end.
I've had a lovely time with Emma and her family and friends.
Yesterday, emz, cris, me and carmelina spent the day at Regents Park innocent village fete. It was brilliant. They had stalls and food and a PIMS bus and they had different tents with different acts on. They had the village green which had 'welly wanging' and old school Morris Dancing, they also had duck herding which we didn't get to see but i could only imagine how funny it would have been. We saw ferret racing and they had live music in the 'farm barn'. It was run by the people who make 'innocent' smoothies. So they also had all ways to keep carbon emissions down and just general green keeping!
After that Cris and Ems and I went to covent gardens for some dinner at this quaint little italian joint where i had the bets lasagne ever!
Today after a much needed sleep in Ems and I went to Waldon Essex to joing about 25 of her family for a 'family fun day' for her Gramps birthday. Most of the kids made cakes up and there was cake judging. There was also badminton going on and we all played rounders in which i proceeded to fall over after a miss strike hahaha i blamed it on the foreign territory... my knee hurts! ha ha ha.
Waldon was a gorgeous place, and the drive there was lovey, passing through old villages and bits n pieced. Waldon was founded in 990 and had the first vikings and is the one of the only towns in england that can claim a heritage of over a thousand years... or so i hear ;)
Tomorrow I say goodbye to Emma (but thank god its not a proper goodbye as i know i will be seing her more often than not).. and I am flying out to France (Nice) to meet up with Laurence and the girls...
I'n not nervous, i think i am just looking forward to it and looking forward to starting my new life with the family... come what may!
I hope everyone is having a ball.
Miss you all heaps xo
Friday, August 1, 2008
and its London calling.
Hi Team.
Well I made it to London, after a day or so of flying. Had an awesome flight from Korea to Heathrow, i made friends with Sam and Tania, both travelling solo and both from melbourne. So we all just kept swapping seats and chatting and then playing in flight tetrix against eachother. It made the 11 hour flight go so much quicker. I had 3 seats to myself, so that was brilliant and so did Tania so we were all at eachothers seats for most fo the time! Sams moving to london for 10 months or so and his mrs is already here. Tania is going to Dublin for a while to catch up with mates and may get work and stay a while. We all got on swimmingly and swapped numbers for future catch ups, so whats tops!
Its stiffling hot here! Would you believe... got off the plane and nearly melted... 29 degrees at like 6pm.. crazy town! I met Em in town and we then went back to her flat in Bellview... and i was explained WHy its called bellview... but shame, we didn't spot any of the 'Ladys of the night' parading last night....
Ems and i went into southend and got a bite to eat and then by the time we did that and got home its was 10:30pm and i had been up for a VERY long time, so i crashed out in emmas bed while she slept on the sofa. what a darl!!!
I woke up at my own leisure this morning and got the train to town and then went down to Tower bridge and did a spot of sightseeing and wandering down the bank of the thames. Grabbed a late lunch and then went to Borough Market which was cool to wander.
I also found the oldest Gothic Church in london in Southwark which was pretty cool, got a snaperoo of that to add to the pile!
I now find myself just a few spots down from London Bridge station waiting for miss Emma to walk from work, then we are heading to WAGGA MAMMAS for dinner.. its liek a japanese food chain store, its pretty shwoittt!!!!
THEN the most exciting.... I will be seeing DARREN later this evening down at Canary Wharf for a bevoir or two!! I am so stoked to see him.. (for those of you who don't know, Darren was one of the cool kids from Contiki last year, he's from South Africa and has just moved to London working for Barclays bank..) he's a legend!!!!
Tomorrow Em and I have the day at our perel, so who knows what we will do... But Friday night we are going to a pub with Cristina and some of the other gals. so that should be sweet.
Saturday Em, Cristina and I are going to a fete at Regents Park, its like all traditional and old school with stalls and fairy floss and fun things!!! so can't wait.... then Sunday is Family day with Ems family for her Gramps b'day.. we are heading to some giant park for a day of fun and games.
Emz and I are hoping to catch a theatre show Sat night, so i've got the guide to look at whats on... theres only about 8 i want to see ha ha... grease, hairspray, phantom, ... i wish we will rock you was still on, coz i know for sure ema and i would see that, but whaddaya know its NOT!!!
So i've got a fun filled few days in front of me. Laurence has already text me and is excited for my arrival on Monday! My flight to Nice is at 1.40pm.. for arrival about 4pm france time i think!
Well its been nice to just sit here and crap on.. hahahaha
Hope you are all doing peachey keen and don't forget to leave a comment or facebook or email.. whatever floats your boat!
love me xo
Well I made it to London, after a day or so of flying. Had an awesome flight from Korea to Heathrow, i made friends with Sam and Tania, both travelling solo and both from melbourne. So we all just kept swapping seats and chatting and then playing in flight tetrix against eachother. It made the 11 hour flight go so much quicker. I had 3 seats to myself, so that was brilliant and so did Tania so we were all at eachothers seats for most fo the time! Sams moving to london for 10 months or so and his mrs is already here. Tania is going to Dublin for a while to catch up with mates and may get work and stay a while. We all got on swimmingly and swapped numbers for future catch ups, so whats tops!
Its stiffling hot here! Would you believe... got off the plane and nearly melted... 29 degrees at like 6pm.. crazy town! I met Em in town and we then went back to her flat in Bellview... and i was explained WHy its called bellview... but shame, we didn't spot any of the 'Ladys of the night' parading last night....
Ems and i went into southend and got a bite to eat and then by the time we did that and got home its was 10:30pm and i had been up for a VERY long time, so i crashed out in emmas bed while she slept on the sofa. what a darl!!!
I woke up at my own leisure this morning and got the train to town and then went down to Tower bridge and did a spot of sightseeing and wandering down the bank of the thames. Grabbed a late lunch and then went to Borough Market which was cool to wander.
I also found the oldest Gothic Church in london in Southwark which was pretty cool, got a snaperoo of that to add to the pile!
I now find myself just a few spots down from London Bridge station waiting for miss Emma to walk from work, then we are heading to WAGGA MAMMAS for dinner.. its liek a japanese food chain store, its pretty shwoittt!!!!
THEN the most exciting.... I will be seeing DARREN later this evening down at Canary Wharf for a bevoir or two!! I am so stoked to see him.. (for those of you who don't know, Darren was one of the cool kids from Contiki last year, he's from South Africa and has just moved to London working for Barclays bank..) he's a legend!!!!
Tomorrow Em and I have the day at our perel, so who knows what we will do... But Friday night we are going to a pub with Cristina and some of the other gals. so that should be sweet.
Saturday Em, Cristina and I are going to a fete at Regents Park, its like all traditional and old school with stalls and fairy floss and fun things!!! so can't wait.... then Sunday is Family day with Ems family for her Gramps b'day.. we are heading to some giant park for a day of fun and games.
Emz and I are hoping to catch a theatre show Sat night, so i've got the guide to look at whats on... theres only about 8 i want to see ha ha... grease, hairspray, phantom, ... i wish we will rock you was still on, coz i know for sure ema and i would see that, but whaddaya know its NOT!!!
So i've got a fun filled few days in front of me. Laurence has already text me and is excited for my arrival on Monday! My flight to Nice is at 1.40pm.. for arrival about 4pm france time i think!
Well its been nice to just sit here and crap on.. hahahaha
Hope you are all doing peachey keen and don't forget to leave a comment or facebook or email.. whatever floats your boat!
love me xo
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)